Here are some commonly asked questions about our school.
Where is the school located?
PNW CDL Training
3608 Gun Club Road
Yakima, WA 98901
What are the minimum requirements to join the program?
Students must be at least 18 years of age for driving only in Washington State (intrastate) or 21 years of age or older for multiple-state driving (interstate). Students must possess a High School Diploma, a General Education Development (GED) Diploma, or pass a graded entrance exam. All students should have the ability to read, write and speak English. Students that do not have a GED or Diploma may enter by passing a ‘ability to benefit’ test provided by the school. There may be some crimes that prevent you from getting a CDL, please call us and ask with details so we can help you determine if you're eligible.
Do you drug test?
Yes, PNW CDL Training has a zero-tolerance drug and alcohol policy. Student must be able to pass a pre-employment drug test. Random drug testing will be implemented during the school program. Use of drugs or alcohol on school premises will result in an immediate expulsion in accordance to our refund policy.
How long does it take to get my CDL?
The law requires 160 hours of training to be certified. This will allow you to go and take your CDL Test and get started with your career as a professional driver.
- Classroom Time: 40 Hours
- Proficiency Development: 16 Hours
- Combined Lab Training, Range and Observation: 70 Hours
- Training in Backing Maneuvers: 16 Hours
- Street Driving: 18 Hours
What holidays does this school observe?
All major US holidays:
- New Year’s Day
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day
- Labor Day
- Veterans Day
- Black Friday
- Christmas Eve
What are the hours of operation?
There are two classes, day and night.
- Day Class: Monday – Friday 7:00am – 3:00pm
- Night Class: Monday – Friday 3:30pm – 11:30pm
What does the program cost?
Approximately $3500, please call for more details.
Does PNW CDL Training Offer Job Assistance?
We offer a job board with active listings, we will make our best effort to help our students find jobs as they enter their career in professional driving.
What if I miss a day?
We will allow up to 5 total days missed before grounds for dismissal. Those days will be made up as time allows, which will extend the course for that student. However, space is limited and we have to limit the amount of days missed. The school will work with folks who have family situations, we can either postpone the training until you're ready, or refund your money according to our refund policy.
Is this school accredited?
Yes, we have been verified by the Washington State Department of Education and are licensed to teach this program. In order to get your CDL you have to successfully pass a training course to take the test.